News & Events

Bishop Checchio appoints new Episcopal Vicars and Deans

September 08, 2018

The Most Rev. James F. Checchio, JCD, MBA, has announced the appointments of new Episcopal Vicars and Deans of the Diocese of Metuchen, effective September 8.  The role of Episcopal Vicar is to assist the bishop in oversight and support of the priests and parishes in a geographical region of the diocese, while the role of the Dean is to promote collaboration among the priests and parishes within his deanery. The Diocese of Metuchen serves four counties in New Jersey and has nine deaneries comprised of 90 parishes.

The following priests will serve in their newly appointed roles and also continue to serve in their current parish assignments: 

Vicariate of Middlesex County North: Rev. Edmund J. Shallow, Episcopal Vicar
          Cathedral Deanery: Rev. Anthony M. Sirianni, Dean
          Middlebrook Deanery: Rev. James F. Considine, Dean

Vicariate of Middlesex County South: Rev. John C. Grimes, Episcopal Vicar
          The Deanery of the Cities of New Brunswick and Perth Amboy: Rev. Msgr. John B. Gordon, Dean
          Raritan Bay Deanery: Rev. Thomas F. Ryan, Dean
          Forsgate Deanery: Rev. Charles T. O’Connor, Dean

Vicariate of Somerset County: Rev. Msgr. Seamus F. Brennan, Episcopal Vicar
          County Seat Deanery: Rev. Francis (Hank) Hilton, Dean
          Somerset Hills Deanery: Rev. Msgr. Randall J. Vashon, Dean

Vicariate of Hunterdon and Warren Counties: Rev. Antony Arockiadoss, Episcopal Vicar
          Round Valley Deanery: Rev. Abraham Orapankal, Dean
          Morris Canal Deanery: Rev. John J. Barbella, Dean

# # #

View all News stories »